Running

Avoidance 

I’ve been avoiding blogging. I’m injured and I’m pissed about it. I pushed too hard too fast and my body wasn’t strong enough. I have overuse injuries that I will know more about after my physical therapy appointment tomorrow. All I know is I can only run twice a week and that scares the shit out of me. 

Running is my stress relief. My anti anxiety pill. My freedom. My me time. My social time. My fun time. My confidence. My strength. Running means so much to me and now my running is limited. 

I feel mad and disappointed and scared. I just want to be able to run. 

5 thoughts on “Avoidance ”

  1. I know just how you feel. Last year I felt like crying every time I saw a runner (I was inevitably in the car and it was inevitably a beautiful day). You will get back there. Slowly slowly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Easy girl. I totally understand all of these feelings, that’s how you know you’re a runner, you think it defines who you are! Take all the time you need to be sad and mad, but then remember that this is all a part of the process. You are learning about your body and about yourself–I know we just want our bodies to be faithful to us and perform and do whatever we want them to do but unfortunately they require a lot more care than that. You will figure out your best self care plan and you will get back to your running, just be patient with yourself and with your body–you’re both such hard workers! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words. I hope I can listen to my body and get back to running soon. I was stubborn today and pushed too hard and I’m definitely paying for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

